In upper Vallagarina, Nomi holds on to its roots
Nomi is the last village, when descending southwards, of the right bank of the Adige, a lovely route amidst wineries, vineyards and fruit orchards, at the feet of Mount Corona.
The Valle dell'Adige cycling path can be reached from the bridge over the Adige following a small road that crosses through apple orchards. Along the path there is a serviced rest area with Bicigrill offering refreshments, information and logistic assistance to bikers.
First mentioned with the name of "de Nomio" in 1188, Nomi develops around the complex of buildings belonging to Palazzo Vecchio, of 15th century appearance, surrounded by the typical dry stone walls. Around the building, the farmers' houses, the cultivated fields and the vineyards are proof of the agricultural activities of this ancient feudal estate. Behind the large parochial church dedicated to Our Lady of Consolation (1858-1895) visitors can tour the town's ancient core with its beautiful houses with the long balconies under the eaves, the wall frescoes and the ornate portals.