Badia di S. Lorenzo
Built by the Benedictines in the Romanesque style during the 12th century, the Badia di San Lorenzo still features age-old flavours.
The Badia di San Lorenzo dates back to the second half of the 12th century and was one of the most popular churches in Trento at the time of the Council. The abbey was built by the Benedictines of the monastery of Vallalta, in Bergamo. A note from the second half of the 12th century states that the abbey was built on "the island" near the river, outside the city walls, by the "laboratores et familiares et operari" of the Benedictine community called to Trento - partly upon recommendation of Pellegrino, Patriarch of Aquileia.
Its main façade features a portal overlooked by a three mullioned window with two Romanesque bas-reliefs. The church's apse is Romanesque, and boasts semi-cylindrical pilasters which split it into spans, whereas its bell tower was raised in the 18th century. Indoor, the building is divided into three naves with a frescoed groined vault. The presbytery is enclosed by a semicircular apse and is higher than the hall used by the faithful. A convent - remained open until 1778 - was located next to the church and was later demolished. Today, the Abbey is owned by the Municipality of Trento, and is used as venue to celebrate its Patron Saint on August 10.