Trekking to San Biagio's Church
Simple walk immersed in the ancient history of a small church, a destination for pilgrimages, especially in the times of pestilence.
Dedicated to Saint Biagio Bishop of Sebaste in Armenia whose martyrdom dates back to 316.
It stands on an archaeological site not yet explored, near an ancient little village.
Nearby there was built in 1640 a hermitage, destroyed by an arson in 1669, in which there was a hermit custodian of the church.
It is news of a last hermit in 1767.
The church was a destination for pilgrimages, especially in the times of pestilence and in those circumstances some victims of the disease were buried: in the summer of 1951, during restoration work, three skeletons buried without coffins were found next to the church. The small church in the classroom is a fourteenth-century building, enlarged in current architectural forms in 1506.