Chiesa della SS. Trinità
The opening procession of the Council of Trent set off from the Church of the Santissima Trinità in 1545.
The Church's façade boasts a unique form of decoration, and features stone garlands, festoons of fruits and flowers, draperies and two angel heads, making it truly special among the churches of Trentino. This pleasant combination of Baroque and Renaissance styles in the Church of the Santissima Trinità in Trento is completed by an archivolt niche housing the statues of the Holy Trinity. The opening procession of the Ecumenical Council of Trento started off from this church on 13 December 1545.
Built in the Renaissance style, the church was erected for the Order of Saint Clare in 1519 and consecrated three years later, on December 26. It features a single hall, a crossed vault, three spans and two side chapels decorated with barrel vaults and 17th century stuccoes. The altarpiece in the niche of the main altar, which faces the wide choir belonging to the former monastery, is by Martin Teofilo Polacco. The two side altars come from two side apses in the Duomo. Refurbishing works in 1985 gave back to the façade the dignity of its characteristic white stone and plaster walls.